travelingaround.reismee.nl

An adventure to the Esmerald isle: Ireland.

Welcome everyone,

I will be posting in English to be able to reach everyone. If requested in another language feel free to contact me personally.

In February and March of 2017 I have been travelling to Ireland. I heard a lot of stories about this country. It being a wonderful wild and green island and it’s people being very friendly. I had the opportunity to go to friends in Ireland and stay with them, so I grabbed this opportunity and went off on this journey.

My journey went from Amsterdam Schiphol airport to Dublin Airport. I had to go to Wexford in the south where I would be picked up. I took the bus down south which took me a couple of hours. But on my way I could experience the first glimps of this country, the mountains of Wicklow for example. What a great first views of Ireland! After being picked up we went with the car to what would be my home for the next 2 months. Living with a Dutch family close to the city of New Ross in a little town called Terrerath.

The backyard had a great view to Kennedy hill, named after the family of former president of the U.S.A: John. F. Kennedy. I never knew but his family is Irish and came from this area. This hill had a memorial center for John. F. Kennedy and around it a big park with trees and plants from all around the world. We would visit this place a couple of times as it is a beautiful area to walk and enjoy the surrounding view.

And New Ross? Such a cute city. The area around it is so beautiful, it laying at the river Barrow and on hills so it was a lot of going up and down. The grassland around the city still holding beautiful hedgerows and old fashioned wooden electrical and phone lines. It gave the area and city such a nice atmosphere. People greeting each other with ‘’Hiya, how are you?’’. A lot of people knowing each other and just getting in a talk with you. It really was a beautiful Irish city which gave me beautiful experiences of how the Irish people are. They say it’s getting worse, but in my experience the hospitality and kindness of the Irish is still incredible. It makes you feel welcome.

So far some first impressions about Ireland. A country with beautiful rough areas, cute peaceful lakes and other places and it’s wonderful inhabitants. It wouldn’t only be New Ross but also a completely travel around the coast of the whole island, including Northern Ireland.

Lot’s of love,

Johan

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!